The deadline to complete the San Francisco Health Care Security Ordinance (HCSO) Annual Reporting for 2018 is April 30, 2019.
The 2018 Annual Reporting Form will be available online by April 1, 2019. Employers that fail to file by the April 30 deadline will face penalties of up to $500 per quarter.
Tips for completing the Annual Reporting Form can be found here, however, please note that the website has not been updated to reflect the 2018 Annual Reporting Form. The link provided will reference the 2017 Annual Reporting Form.
Which Employers Must Comply
An employer is covered by the Health Care Security Ordinance (HCSO) for any calendar quarter if it meets the following three conditions:
- Employs one or more workers within the geographic boundaries of the City and County of San Francisco;
- Is required to obtain a valid San Francisco business registration certificate pursuant to Article 12 of the Business and Tax Regulations Code;
- Is a for-profit business with 20 or more persons performing work or a nonprofit organization with 50 or more persons performing work (this includes all persons working for the entity, regardless of whether they are located in San Francisco or outside of the city).
Businesses must meet the Employer Spending Requirements (ESR) by making health care contributions on behalf of all covered employees (an individual that has been employed for more than 90 days and regularly works at least 8 hours per week in San Francisco).
New Rules for Employers with Self-insured Medical Plans
Employers with self-insured medical plans should be aware of new rules for calculating required healthcare expenditures.
Employers with self-funded plans may no longer use the Cobra premium rate to calculate, and must instead calculate the expenditure based on claims incurred by the individual.
Recent Compliance Articles
- Final Rule Released—U. S. Department of Labor: White Collar Exemption and Overtime
- Medicare Part D Advisory: Sponsors of Prescription Drug Plans Must Provide Notices Prior to October 15 Each Year
- California SB 778 Delays Expanded Sexual Harassment Training Requirements to January 1, 2021
- Departments Adopt Non-Enforcement Policy on Drug Manufacturer Coupons
- California Expands Definition of Domestic Partner, Dropping Age 62 Requirement for Opposite-Sex Couples