Effective March 29, 2019, Michigan becomes the 11th state to enact paid sick leave entitled the Paid Family Leave Act (PMLA).
Which employers must comply? Employers with 50 or more individuals, regardless of full or part-time status.
Which employees are eligible to receive paid medical leave in MI? An individual whose primary work location is Michigan and is engaged in service to an employer (in the business of the employer) and from whom an employer is required to withhold for federal income tax purposes in.
There are 12 exemptions. The most notable is for employees who worked on average fewer than 25 hours per week during the preceding calendar year.
Accrual Begins: On March 29, 2019 or the first day of employment (if hired after March 29, 2019).
Accrual Rate: One hour for every 35 hours worked, capped at 40 hours per benefit year.
Employers should take the following action in advance of the effective date:
- Post the required posting, which can be found here.
- Review existing sick leave policies to determine if the current policy should be revised.
- Develop a new paid sick leave policy that complies with the PMLA for any employees who are not covered under existing paid leave or paid time off (PTO) policies
- Monitor Michigan’s Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) website for further information on the PMLA
For more information, please read the Bureau of Employment Relations Wage and Hour Division Paid Medical Leave Act FAQs.
If you have additional questions about this update, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Recent Compliance Articles
- IRS Extends Deadline for Furnishing Form 1095-C and Extends Good-Faith Transition Relief
- SB 600 Requires California Health Insurance Companies to Cover Fertility Preservation Treatments
- IRS Increases Health FSA Contribution Limit for 2020, Adjusts Other Benefit Limits
- California Consumer Privacy Act of 2020—What Every California Business Needs to Know
- New Flexible Spending Account Notification Requirements for California Employers Effective January 1, 2020